26 12 18

Managing millions of people in the state of Florida are rules and requirements that provide support when personal rights come into question.  Protecting financial investments as well, these laws help provide the framework in which the state operates. Here are few frequently asked questions when it comes to Florida auto insurance requirements.

Im registering a vehicle for the first time in Florida. Do I have to purchase insurance?

Yes, If you want to register any type of vehicle with four wheels, you must have it insured according to this website.

What happens if I go without auto insurance in Florida?

Never go without coverage. It’s not a smart decision. No car insurance? If you are in an accident that’s determined to be your fault and your friend becomes injured you will be stuck paying all of those medical bills. This would lead to you having bad credit and will eventually lead to you declaring bankruptcy. It’s not worth losing everything you own.

So what type of insurance do I need to purchase for FL license and registration?

The minimum amount of coverage here in FL is $10,000 Personal Injury Protection, and $10,000 Property Damage Liability.

Personal Injury Protection is also known as Florida No-Fault insurance. PIP coverage will cover you no matter who is at fault for the accident. However, this coverage will only cover you up to a certain amount. (This limit is stated in your policy.) PIP will also cover your family members and certain passengers who do have PIP coverage.

A basic PIP will cover up to a certain dollar amount and will cover these items:

  • 80% of medical expenses
  • Up to 60% percent of any lost wages and replacement services.
  • A $5,000 dollar death benefit

Property Damage Liability protection will simply pay for any damages you or your family members are responsible for to other peoples property in a crash.

Florida auto insurance requirements also show that drivers must have the minimum vehicle insurance requirements or else risk suspended licenses and in some cases a fine.

Also, keep in mind that you can add other types of coverage to your policy too. These optional coverages are Comprehensive Insurance, Collision Insurance, and Rental Car Coverage. While not mandatory, this coverage can add extra peace of mind for drivers who want complete protection while out on the road.

Keep these Florida auto insurance requirements in mind when it comes time to shop for coverage here. Also, keep in mind that you can purchase additional coverage. Never drive uninsured, it’s not worth the risk.